Reference

New Zealand Tourism: Introduction

Web Resources

Avon River in ChristchurchTourism New Zealand
This site includes statistics and other information culled from international visitor surveys and other market research. There is a comprehensive range of frequently asked questions and answers which are invaluable for research projects, as well as information on trade events and industry trends. If you register (for free) you can access additional information but you will need an email address to do this.
Statistics New Zealand
Includes a lot of tourism statistics. Hot Off the Press is a good source of recent statistics and the 1999 Yearbook has a section on leisure and tourism.
Tourism Industry Association
Includes facts and figures about the tourism industry.

Library Resources

Principles of Tourism: A New Zealand Perspective Alan Collier, 5th ed, 1999.
This book is a good starting point for the tourism researcher. Collier analyses the structure of the New Zealand tourism industry and includes chapters on transport, accommodation, attractions/activities, marketing, and social, environmental and economic impacts.
Tourism Research in New Zealand Ministry of Commerce, 1995.
This is a little dated, but does give some useful insights into gaps and research priorities and a good overall picture of tourism research completed up to 1995.
Tourism Research Bibliography 1994-1996 Ministry of Commerce, 1997.
This is an essential resource. It lists a wide range of publications in the general areas of transportation, accommodation, tourism attractions and products, economic factors, tourism statistics, regional tourism research, research on overseas markets, market research, environmental issues, cultural and social issues, human resource issues, and theoretical and general tourism research.

Articles

Index New Zealand (INNZ)
Indexes articles in New Zealand magazines and newspapers. A subject search (click Header, then Subject) using "tourism" is a good start, and will bring lots of results. For a more specific search, try a keyword or builder search combining two or more terms, such as "tourism" and "adventure".
Ebscohost
An international database of magazine articles, many of which can be read in full. Try typing two or three keywords, such as "tourism and Christchurch" or "tourism and Zealand and United States". To find more articles, look at the subject line of individual article records and click on subjects that interest you.
N.B. This resource is only available within our Libraries or by Library customers who have their card and PIN.
NEWZINDEX
This is a monthly index of New Zealand business and commercial publications which is kept at the Business Centre of the Central Library. Look up the subject "tourism".

Tourism Directories

New Zealand Contacts in tourism
This publication ceased in 2003. The 2003 edition is held at the Aotearoa New Zealand Centre in the Central library. Earlier copies are also held in storage.
New Zealand Outside: annual and directory
Aimed at environmental and adventure tourism, copies are held in storage.

Earnslaw on Lake Wakatipu ca 1930, Sydney Taylor PapersPhotographs

The Aotearoa New Zealand Centre holds tourism photographs from all over New Zealand. Many of these have been added to the library catalogue (search on a keyword after changing the material type to Photographs), but can also be accessed using an index held in the ANZC.

Many photographs have also been added to the digital Images Collection.