Reference

About Oxford Music Online

Music reference and research tool that charts the history and culture of music and musicians from around the world, from pre-history to the present day.

Use at a library or enter your library card & PIN

Use Oxford Music Online nowLogo

Key features

Oxford Music Online offers users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location including:

  • Oxford Dictionary of Music: contains entries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, instruments, works and a host of other topics;
  • Grove Music: the ultimate authority on all aspects of music worldwide, includes New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz plus specially commissioned articles only available online;
  • The Oxford Companion to Music: authoritative information on all aspects of music for researchers;
  • The Encyclopedia of Popular Music: covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day.

More information

Search options allow users to refine their search or browse results by source and specific era or subject category. Users can also choose to view subject entries or biographies with direct links to other online resources, including the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Advanced search options provide tools to easily search within longer, multi-section articles.

If you like this try our other musical electronic resources such as Music Online and Naxos!